Get to Know Stillwater County

Looking for where to visit in Montana? Stillwater County in south central Montana is hands down one of the most beautiful places in Montana to visit. Stillwater County is made up of eight different communities; Absarokee, Columbus, Fishtail/Dean, Molt, Nye, Park City, Rapelje, and Reed Point. With just over 9,000 people, Stillwater County is rich in history and community pride.

Stillwater County Facts

Population: ~9,500

Square Footage: 1,805 square miles

County Seat: Columbus, MT

National protected areas:

  • Custer National Forest (part)
  • Hailstone National Wildlife Refuge
  • Halfbreed Lake National Wildlife Refuge

Major Highways:

  • Interstate 90
  • U.S. Highway 10 (Former)
  • Montana Highway 78

Number of Named Mountains: 46

Number of Rivers and Streams: 51

Number of High Schools: 5

Highest Elevation: Over 12,808’ at Granite Peak


Back to top