Stillwater County Government

Your Untouched Adventure Starts Here

Located in South Central Montana, Stillwater County is home to just under 9,500 residents.  The geography of the County stretches over 1800 square miles and touches landmarks of every form.  From scenic Mountains and pristine river valleys in the south to the rolling plains and deep coulees in the north, the elevation ranges from 3,400 feet above sea level near Park City to over 12,000 feet above sea level near Granite Peak on the southern boundary of the County.   Agriculture and mining drive the economic base for the County as a whole. Supporting services and retail trade throughout the communities provide unique tick to each community in Stillwater County.

Stillwater County hosts a wide array of activities for residents and those guests traveling through.  On a trip through Stillwater County you will find wild and scenic outdoor recreation, an area rich in history, and communities deep in spirit with a wide array of community activities and events throughout the year.   Stillwater County serves as a gateway to Yellowstone National Park as visitors travel highway 78 to Red Lodge to take one of the most scenic highways in the country, the Beartooth Pass.

Columbus, the only incorporated community in the County, is centrally located just off I-90 (exit 408) and serves as the County seat and home to the local government offices.  The government system of Stillwater County is a Commissioner Structure. The County is divided into three Commissioner Districts. The Commissioners supervise the administration of County government.

Elementary school districts are spread throughout the County while five high school districts provide education to the communities of Absarokee, Columbus, Park City, Rapelje, and Reed Point.

Take a trip down a two lane road through Stillwater County and find all it has to offer you as a resident or guest alike.  A trip through the valley or across the open plains that reach the skies and you will begin a new “untouched adventure” each and every time.

Stillwater County Government provides the foundation of services for our communities.  The County Government provides safe, healthy, and financially stable places for the individuals, families, businesses, and organizations that call them home.  The County Government provides consistent public services for day to day needs as well as providing refuge in the midst of community disasters.

The Government is a County Commissioner Government.  County Commissioners are elected to six year terms, on a rotating basis; with one commissioner position elected every two years.

The Commissioners are responsible for the County’s administrative, executive and legislative powers as outlined in the Montana State Constitution and state statutes. This includes appointment of department heads and members of supervisory boards and committees.

Each individual department within the County specializes in a specific area of service.  The staff members and elected officials are here to serve and assist County residents with public services from public health and safety to administering voting, collecting taxes and transferring property.


431 Quarry Rd
Columbus, MT 59019

Open in Google Maps

Back to top